Posted on

Yale Educator Award for Dr. Charilaos Tsagkarakis, Pierce Physics teacher!

Dr. Charilaos Tsagkarakis, Pierce Lyceum and IB DP Physics Instructor, has been selected as a recipient of the “2022 Yale Educator Award”.

The award is sponsored by the Yale Office of Undergraduate Admissions and recognizes educators from around the world who inspire and support their students to perform at high levels and to achieve excellence. Students entering the Yale Class of 2026 were asked to nominate outstanding educators who have deeply impacted their lives.

Dr. Tsagkarakis was nominated for the award by Georgios Ploumis,​ then selected as a winner by a committee in the Office of Undergraduate Admissions. Of this year’s 339 nominees, who represent 43 US states and 21 countries, 48 teachers and 29 counselors were selected to receive the award. The committee reviewed nominations, we were constantly reminded of the unique and critical role that exceptional educators play in shaping their students’ futures by encouraging them to pursue their goals.

Georgios Ploumis graduated with the highest score 45/45 in the Graduating 2022 class (IB Valedictorian).

Dr. Tsagkarakis has a BSc in Physics, Physics Department, University of Athens, MSc and PhD both in Theoretical Physics, Physics Department, Nuclear and Elementary Particle Physics Division, University of Athens. He is a member of Pierce faculty since 2020.