Posted on

Steinhardt alumna Deborah Jewell-Sherman is the 2022 Dorothy Height Awardee!

The New York University Steinhardt School’s Dorothy Height Distinguished Alumni Awardee
for 2022 is Deborah Jewell – Sherman.

Dr. Deborah Jewell-Sherman, professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and pro bono consultant on the Pierce elementary school project, is the recipient of the 2022 Dorothy Height Award – Steinhardt NYU. This is the highest alumni award given by the Steinhardt School.

The Award is named after Dorothy Height, an African American civil rights and women’s rights activist. She focused on the issues of African American women, including unemployment, illiteracy, and voter awareness. Height is credited as the first leader in the civil rights movement to recognize inequality for women and African Americans as problems that should be considered as a whole. She was the president of the National Council of Negro Women for 40 years.

Dorothy Height, a beacon for women and a strong proponent of education, is someone I hold in the highest esteem,” said Jewell-Sherman. “I am humbled and grateful to receive this award named in her honor. My NYU degree is the one dearest to my heart, for while I always knew education was life-altering, NYU proved it. I pray that I have been worthy of that scholarship and that I have modeled the grace I was given in working with my many, many students, whom I call my cherubs.

Dr. Deborah Jewell-Sherman was the key speaker at the Pierce 2021 graduation, and during 2021-22 academic year she engaged in several Pierce activities, literary events, book analysis, and conversations with our students on themes like the roots of racism, cultural heritage, the influence of the media, the impact of racism and solutions for a better world.

In addition to this award, Jewell-Sherman previously was named the Virginia Superintendent of the Year in 2009 and received the Dr. Effie Jones Humanitarian Award in 2013, both from AASA, the School Superintendents Association. Additionally, in 2015, she was recognized for her teaching excellence with the Morningstar Family Award and the LGBTQIA+ Faculty Award in 2018 from HGSE.

She is the first woman professor of practice at the Harvard Graduate School of Education (HGSE).