Mathematics, Computer Science and Economics Department

The College’s Mathematics, Computer Science and Economics Department:
•    Meets on a regular (weekly) basis.
•    Monitors the progress of teaching material, according to the Analytical Program of Studies set by the Ministry of Education, Research and Religion.
•    Has an organized databank of exercises and tests, which is constantly updated.
•    Collaborates with all the Academic Departments of the College and with all educational agencies.

  • Provides organized handouts covering exercises and theory with the aim of deepening students’ understanding of the material through extra practice, and giving students the motivation to learn.
  • Utilizes computers and the Internet, with the appropriate software and audiovisual material, through:    Computer labs
  • the digital platform BlackBoard
  • andSmart Classrooms
  • Organizes talks in the Theater on the historical course of Mathematics, the biographies of important mathematics personalities, as well as the relationship with Mathematics and other disciplines.

•    Is responsible for the Mathematics Clubs, in which, among others, students:
•    are informed about contemporary fields of research in the discipline
•    are informed about the conduct of, and their possible participation in, Panhellenic Competitions.
•    learn about educational Mathematics software
•    in addition, are given handouts with Mathematics terminology in English so that they achieve greater facility in reading and using the foreign bibliography, which is particularly important for their later scientific and academic progress
•    Is responsible for the After-School Mathematics Clubs, whose exclusive purpose is to prepare students for the Panhellenic Exams of the Greek Mathematics Society.

The Economics teachers support innovative educational activities, such as Junior Achievement programs, an interdisciplinary approach to knowledge, competitions in the framework of the Ministry of Education, visits to businesses and organizations, career guidance seminars, etc.

For Computer Science class, each class is divided into 2 groups (12-15 students in each).The class is a lab lesson and each group meets in a different Computer lab, which is equipped with all the necessary means of monitoring (electronic presentations via video projector, use of the BlackBoard electronic class management platform).

In class, the curriculum of the Analytical Curriculum is covered and, at the same time, students carry out team projects which develop creative thinking and team work, while also deepening their understanding of the subject of Computer Science and the utilization of all the possibilities that technology offers.
In the same context, participation in Panhellenic, European and international competitions is also encouraged.

Department Head: Dimitrios Misyrlis
Assistant Head: Christos Diamantis

Mathematics Teachers:

  1. Vasiliki Amblianiti
  2. Emmanuel Vrontakis
  3. Dimitrios Georgantidis
  4. Konstantinos Garbolas
  5. Emmanuela Dimitroulaki
  6. Christos Diamantis
  7. Spyridon Doukakis
  8. Ioannis Zacharias
  9. Fotios Kanellopoulos
  10. Spyridoula Kanta
  11. Ioannis Kladas
  12. Vasileios Melas
  13. Dimitrios Misyrlis
  14. Georgia Michalopoulou
  15. Olga Palanta
  16. Georgios Pinotsis
  17. Dimitrios Protopapas

Economics Teachers:

  1. Elias Minas
  2. Georgios Papachristou
  3. Georgios Tziros

Computer Science Teachers:

  1. Spyridon Doukakis
  2. Stylianos Katsoulis
  3. Fotios Katsochristos
  4. Ioanna Pylioti
  5. Ioannis Skliris
  6. Athena Stavraki
  7. Alexandra Psaltidou


2015 – 2016: Eleven Pierce students were awarded distinctions in the Kangaroo Mathematics Competition 2016.  Ioanna Georgopoulou,  Antonis Panagakos, Petros Papadopoulos, Eleanna Skafida and Marilena Chatzikosta from a’ Gymnasium,  Maro Theofani, Christos Economou, Evangelia Rizopoulou and Panagiotis Psaltiras from b’ Gymnasium and, finally, Emmanuel Papanikolas and Panagiotis Perperidis from g’ Gymnasium succeeded in the Competitions.

Pierce B’ Lyceum student Angelos Angelopoulos achieved 2nd place in the second phase of the Panhellenic Computer Science Competition. Two other students also achieved high rankings in the particularly challenging competition, Christos Glezos (17th place) and Giannis Chatziveroglou (31st), out of 59 winners.

At this link you can see all of the results.

Students of the Mathematics Exploration Club using GeoGebra software on their στα Tablets (Mathematics with GeoGebra on Tablets, MathGeTa) took part in the proceedings of the conference organized by the branch of Greek Mathematics Society of Central Macedonia entitled “8th International Mathematics Week.”

The conference took place in Thessaloniki. At the conference, before a crowded audience, our students presented their project entitled “Mathematics and Tessellations.” In the Club, the students had made digital tesselations on their tablets with GeoGebra software, had written up their project and created the presentation that they did at the conference.

In addition, the students attended the presentation made by students of other schools, participated in mathematical games that had been organized (mathematical escape room, robotics, solving mathematical puzzles, mathematics debates, etc.). Finally, they visited the “Noisis Science Center & Technology Museum,” where they watched an interactive presentation with experiments and experienced a simulator.

This is the 3rd consecutive year in which students of Pierce – The American College of Greece have participated in the proceedings of the student conference through the MathGeTa Club.