Greek Philology Department

Pierce has a long history in the field of philological studies and, more generally, in the humanities. In teaching the subjects included in this field, the philologues of our school aim both to cultivate the intellect and to fully develop our students’ personalities.

With ongoing professional development and in cooperation with relevant school advisors and specialists, up-to-date planning, as well as their love and passion for teaching, they offer the highest quality services. They use classical and modern teaching methods and run Clubs of philological interest aimed at the further development of our students’ skills

The Philology Department organizes and presents tributes to Greek writers, always in collaboration with Gymnasium and Lyceum students. Over the last few years, they have presented the following tributes: K. P. Kavafis, N. Kavvadias, N. Gatsos, N. Kazantzakis. In March 2017, there was a tribute to Women in Literature.

Department Heads: Panagiotis Vasilopoulos, Ioannis Parisis
Assistant Heads: Athina Hadzigianni, Harikleia Lembesi


  1. Angeliki Atsali
  2. Panagiotis Vasilopoulos
  3. Konstantinos Gakis
  4. Maria Galanopoulou
  5. Antigone Georgara
  6. Georgia Giannakopoulou
  7. Thomas Giourgas (IB TOK)
  8. Ioli – Olga Despi
  9. Eleni Dimou
  10. Harikleia – Anna Kakatsou
  11. Dimitra Kalligeri (IB)
  12. Emmanuela Kantzia
  13. Angeliki Kehagia
  14. Maria Korda
  15. Christina Koronaiou
  16. Ioannis Kosmas
  17. Kleio Koutrouba
  18. Ioulia Kyriakou
  19. Maria Lada
  20. Harikleia Lembesi
  21. Zoe Livanou
  22. Iliana Lytra (IB TOK)
  23. Maria Michailidou
  24. Kalliopi Mitrotoli
  25. Eleni Mitsoula
  26. Sofia Mourouti
  27. Anna – Despoina Xenou
  28. Athina Panagiotopoulou
  29. Evanthia Papacosta
  30. Evangelia Papoulia
  31. Ioannis Parisis
  32. Florentia Pikoula
  33. Athina Pitta
  34. Maria Eleni Pliakostamou
  35. Marina Pothitou
  36. Panagiotis Polydoropoulos
  37. Anna Rossi
  38. Iouliani Saliverou
  39. Michail Siamos
  40. Ourania Sinopoulou
  41. Maria Touriki
  42. Yannos Tsatalis
  43. Athina Hadzigianni
  44. Theodora Chira
  45. Sotiria Chrimatopoulou

Participation in Student Conference at the Zografeio Lyceum

The Student Conference 2016 took place in Thessaloniki (Mandoulides Schools) from March 20 to April 3,2016 and was dedicated to our Nobel-winning poet, Odysseas Elytis.